Monday, January 7, 2013

Messi awarded FIFA Ballon d'Or prize for the fourth time in a row

Zurich: Barcelona and Argentina superstar Lionel Messi was awarded the FIFA Ballon d'Or for the fourth time in a row on Sunday.
Messi wins FIFA player of the year for a fourth time in a row

The 25 year old polled 41.6% to beat Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo 23.68% and fellow team mates Andres Iniesta 10.91% to the unprecedented football world's player of the year.

"To tell you the truth this is really quite unbelievable," Messi said. "The fourth award that I have won is just too great for words. I want to recognize my team-mates at Barcelona, especially Andres. It is with great pride that I am beside you today and that you play and train with us."

Messi's fourth FIFA crown elevates him above the two players with three titles apiece: Brazil's Ronaldo (1996, 1997, 2002) and Frenchman Zinedine Zidane (1998, 2000, 2003).

Spain's coach Vicente Del Bosque claimed the FIFA Coach of the Year award.

FIFA Ballon d'Or: Lionel Messi

FIFA Women's World Player of the Year: Abby Wambach

FIFA Puskas Award: Miroslav Stoch

FIFA Coach of the Year: Vicente del Bosque

FIFA Women's Coach of the Year: Pia Sundhage

FIFA / FIFPro World XI: Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Spain/Real Madrid). Defenders: Dani Alves (Brazil/Barcelona), Gerard Pique (Spain/Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid). Midfielders: Xabi Alonso (Spain/Real Madrid), Xavi Hernandez (Spain/Barcelona), Iniesta. Forwards: Ronaldo, Radamel Falcao (Colombia/Atletico Madrid) and Messi.

FIFA team of the year

pictures of FIFA team of the year

FIFA Presidential Award: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)

FIFA Fair Play Award: Uzbekistan Football Federation


Post a Comment