Thursday, June 25, 2015

Flood Warning - Nigerian States to Watch

Flood Warning - Nigerian States to Watch

The flood warning continues for the following states in Nigeria: Bayelsa, Rivers, Delta, Niger, Benue, Anambra, Lagos, Sokoto, Kebbi and Oyo.

Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency [NIHSA] on Wednesday warned that these 10 States in Nigeria are likely going to be submerged by flood during the 2015 rainy season.

"Apart from rain, these floods could be attributed to low preparedness, poor drainage systems and blockage of the underground drainage by refuse which prevents free flow of runoff water and poor development plan or non-compliance by those affected."Director General of NIHSA, Moses Beckley said.

"If people do not take heed to these predictions, they will be greatly affected when the flood comes. There is the need to embark on prevention and mitigation measures that would ensure free flow of runoff into the drainages as well as good operation and maintenance of hydraulic structures such as dams and reservoirs."

"These measures will enable us to live with flood, appropriate its positive elements and mitigate the adverse effects," he said.