Friday, September 20, 2013

19 Countries Including Nigeria Excluded from 2013 USA Visa Lottery. Reasons explained

The United States Department of State explained that 19 countries including Nigeria, United Kingdom, Canada has been excluded for the DV-2015 Visa lottery.

In its report, over 50,000 Nigerians have immigrated to the US over the last five years.Cool down, there are many other African countries which is eligible to participate. The full list of countries which are not eligible include Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

The United States Consul-General, Mr. Jeffery Hawkins, on Thursday, gave reasons why Nigeria was excluded from the 2015 Diversity-Visa-Programme registration.

Hawkins told journalists at the U.S. Consulate General in Lagos, that Nigeria was among other countries that had in the last five years, sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the country through the programme.

“As at today, Nigerians have graduated from being under-represented to being a fully well represented group in the U.S.

“There is therefore no longer any need to encourage Nigerians to apply to travel to the U.S. through the Diversity-Visa-Programme.

“Already there are too many Nigerians in the U.S. that have benefited from this programme,’’ he said.


Post a Comment